EAA Election
Unofficial election results

The EAA Election Committee is pleased to announce the UNOFFICIAL results of the election. Winners are noted below in BOLD.


Jackelyn Cornejo (MOU 1) 260 (73.45 %)
Donald Jojola (MOU 19) 94 (26.55 %)


David Somers 80 (75.47 %)
Gonzalo Barriga 26 (24.53 %)


Renata Dragland 76 (36.89 %)
Kiran Rishi 73 (35.44 %)

Theodore Higgins 31 (15.05 %)
Pawan Verma 26 (12.62 %)


Julia Heidelman 91 (32.97 %)
Roy Samaan 83 (30.07 %)
Joshua Fogelson 64 (23.19 %)

Dale Horton, Jr. 28 (10.14 %)
Ioan (John) Salistean 10 (3.62 %)

The By Laws Revision question was inconclusive

YES 175 (50 %)
NO 175 (50 %)

Protests to this election MUST be received by 5 pm December 4, 2020.  Please Email any and all documents to the Election Committee email: electioncommittee@eaaunion.org.

Thank you to everyone who voted.  Congratulations to the winning candidates.

In Solidarity,

Robyn Myers on behalf of the Election Committee

message from the election comMittee

(From Your EAA Election Committee)

In order to properly conduct business in an organization as large as the Engineers & Architects Association, we need members to serve in all elective offices. This year, there are two Governor positions (MOU 19 and At-Large); and five Unit Council Member positions for MOU 19 (1-Seat); MOU 20 (1-Seat); and MOU 21 (3-Seats) are open.

In accordance with the Engineers & Architects Association Constitution and By-Laws, an election for Governors and Unit Council Members will begin on November 2, 2020 with ballots to be received by 5 pm on November 23, 2020.

Nomination petitions for members running for election during the nomination period of September 28, 2020 through 5:00 pm, October 19, 2020.

2020 eaa elections

The Election Committee oversees and administers the election. Candidates seeking information regarding the policies and procedures should contact the EAA office in order to review the Election Procedures Manual.

Detailed descriptions of the various positions and the duties of each position are provided below.

Candidates are encouraged, but not required to submit a Candidate Statement along with their petition for candidacy which will be distributed with the ballot.

Questions from members and candidates should be referred to the Election Committee: Robyn Myers, Chair: electioncommittee@eaaunion.org; 818-326-0423.

Any EAA IBEW voluntary dues-paying member in good standing may be nominated by petition for Unit Governor, At-Large Governor, or Unit Council Member by submitting a petition signed by ten (10) EAA voluntary dues-paying members in good standing. Candidates are responsible for ensuring that the signatures submitted are those of voluntary dues-paying members in good standing. In order to be eligible to run for elected a candidates’ names must appear as a voluntary dues-paying member in good standing in EAA and IBEW on October 19, 2020.

In order to be eligible to vote in this election a member’s name must appear as an EAA voluntary dues-paying member in good standing on October 19, 2020.

A Nomination Petition and Candidate Statement are posted with this Election Announcement.

All Election Petitions and Candidate Statements must be received by EAA by 5:00 p.m. on October 19, 2020. Upon verification of the signatures on the Election Petition, the Election Committee will notify the candidates of their eligibility to run for the position.

Successful candidates for all open positions are elected for a three (3) year term.


A Governor is responsible for the governance of the Union’s Business, fiscal affairs, and for determining Union policy. A Governor is required to attend regular and special Board meetings. It is recommended that anyone applying for Governor be an experienced EAA member, who has served a minimum of two (2) years as a Unit Council Member or as a Union Steward.

Unit Governors are the governing leaders of their Bargaining Unit (MOU) and Chairperson of their Unit Councils. They are responsible for the Unit functions and are the liaison between the Unit and the Board of Governors.

At-Large Governors are elected by all voluntary dues-paying members. At-Large Governors do not lead a Bargaining Unit but may be elected to a Unit Council.


The Unit Council is the policy-making group for the communication between the membership, the Governor, and EAA staff. It is recommended that anyone applying for Unit Council have experience as a Union Steward or as a committee member.

Unit Council Members are responsible for:

  1. Assisting Unit Governor and staff in resolving of issues affecting the Unit;
  2. Gathering and compiling data on issues;
  3. Receiving and preparing negotiation proposals, and offering changes;
  4. Serving on committee as appointed; and
  5. Determining policies and procedures for the Unit.

Unit Council members may also participate in collecting bargaining sessions, at the discretion of their Unit Governor.


(All Terms Expire December 31, 2023)
Click Candidate names to read Mission statements


MOU 19  1 Seat – Vote for 1
Gonzalo Barriga
David Somers

AT-LARGE – Vote for 1
Jackelyn Cornejo
Nicholas Serenil
Donald Jojola



MOU 21 – Vote for 3
Joshua Fogelson
Julia Heidelman
Dale Horton
Roy Samaan
Ioan (John) Salistean


BY-LAW change

BY-LAW I. Duties, Responsibilities, and Power of Governors and Officers of the Board

1. Each Governor has a fiduciary responsibility to support the goals and objectives of the Union as defined by the Constitution, By-Laws, official Board policy, the IBEW Constitution, IBEW Local 11 By-Laws, and all decisions of the Board.

Adds reference to IBEW 11 By-Laws for clarity

Article 1, Section 7

d. The Board shall call at least one general membership meeting per month at such time and place as the Board shall direct.

Adds Monthly Membership meetings to the regular EAA Calendar

BY-LAW IX. MOU Ratification

1. Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) ratification shall be conducted electronically mail by a Third Party. Each MOU shall be ratified separately by the appropriate bargaining unit and shall require an affirmative vote of a majority of the votes cast in that unit.

Adds language prioritizing electronic voting as ratified by the membership in 2019

BY-LAW XIII. Recall Procedure – Removed
Removes By-Law XIII

The EAA Election Committee will consider any questions or disputes regarding the EAA Election Petitions in a timely manner. Any challenges to the election results must be received at the EAA office in writing no later than 12:00 pm on December 4, 2020.

timeline summary

09/28 – Nomination Period Open 
10/19 – Nominations Close at 5 pm 
10/20 – Complete Candidate Petition verification 
10/21 – Board of Governors Certify Candidates 
10/22 – Notify Candidates; candidate statements posted 
11/2 – Voting Begins 
11/23 – Voting Deadline 
11/24 – Election Results Posted 
12/4 – End Protest Period 
12/9 – Board of Governors Adopt Election results per policy

Election Petitions can be downloaded below: